Bizarre schoolboy try leaves viewers at odds as nigel owens enters the debate

Bizarre schoolboy try leaves viewers at odds as nigel owens enters the debate

Play all audios:

Loading...

THE REFEREE DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT, SO NIGEL OWENS HAS PROVIDED CLARITY ON THE SITUATION. 13:37, 31 May 2025 Welsh referee Nigel Owens has weighed in on the debate around a


controversial schoolboy rugby try that is doing the rounds on social media. The try was scored by Marlborough Boys’ College against rivals Nelson College, with Anru Erasmus simply kicking


his penalty along the ground and towards the left side of the try line. From there, his team-mate Finn Neal surged after the ball and duly dotted down for a strange score. The Nelson players


were still huddled under the posts when the trickery was produced. The try was awarded by the referee, who did not recognise any foul play. Sign up to Inside Welsh rugby on Substack to get


exclusive news stories and insight from behind the scenes in Welsh rugby. "It doesn’t contravene any law that I can think of, so it’s a try," he said. Commentator Jeff McTainsh


branded the incident "the most bizarre try you'll ever see". However, Owens has now correctly pointed out that this play was indeed illegal. Commenting underneath the viral


footage, Owens wrote: "No try. You must make a genuine attempt to kick at goal before the try can be allowed to stand. This clearly wasn’t." The west Walian was then asked what the


sanction would be in that scenario, confirming the penalty kick would be void and it would be a free-kick to Nelson. Watch the clip below. Debate has been in full flow on X, formerly


Twitter. "Interesting debate .. tough decision to make, as this basically never comes up, therefore isn’t coached. And the law isn’t that clear. Feel for both Andrew and Nelson College


here," wrote one. "Ball is in play, it's a try," commented another. Many others were quick to discount this argument though. Following the intervention of Owens, one


viewer asked: "Would that decision change if the player did not tell the ref he was going for goal? "I know the presence of the tee suggests that he had done so but we don’t see


the ref signalling that a kick is to be taken." The explicit wording of the rulebook provides clarity on this. As per World Rugby: "If the team indicates to the referee the


intention to kick at goal, they must kick at goal. Article continues below "The intention to kick can be communicated to the referee or signalled by the arrival of the kicking tee or


sand, or when the player makes a mark on the ground." That try gave Marlborough a 15-5 lead going into the sheds for half-time, and they would go on to win the match 28-26, with the


points from that try proving crucial in their victory.